Aftermath: Remastered

The time has come:

Aftermath: Remastered

With a week left until the release of The Last of Us: Remastered, I thought it would be an ideal time to release the “Remastered” edition of the Aftermath series.  As I’ve outlined in previous entries, I went back through the series and combed through it for typos and other corrections, as well as made one change to a plot detail in Part II.  I then put it into a few formats that should cover a wide range of devices: PDF, AZW3, and ePUB.

Now, I don’t have any Apple products, so I can’t speak on how well the formatting of these works on those devices (from what I hear, ePUB can be opened natively on iDevices, but if that doesn’t work, just get the Kindle app and sideload the AZW3 format.)

As far as Android, I tested this on my Nexus 5 and Nexus 7, so I have a couple tips to make it easier to get reading:

PDF: this is the easiest format but also the least flexible.  It can be read on basically any device, but probably won’t offer font resizing and other reading experience tools.

AZW3: Download the file and place it in the “kindle” folder on your phone/tablet’s “sdcard0″ location.  It should then pop up in your library in the Kindle app.  Only thing I noticed that’s weird is the page numbering/”locations” gets kind of wonky.

ePUB: The easiest way I’ve found to get this to work is using Google Play Books.  Just download the ePUB file and put it into Google Drive.  Open the Google Drive app and click on the book, it should be uploaded into Google Play Books.  This seemed to work well for me.

Your mileage may vary in all of these, but with some persistence, it should work!

I made .zip directories containing all of the formats and split them into each part.  So follow the links below and get downloading!

Aftermath: Part I
Aftermath: Part II
Aftermath: Part III

I hope you all enjoy getting to read these in a more friendly format than what’s accessible on FanFiction.net.  This is a final farewell to the series, and my parting gift to you!  Thanks for reading!

UPDATE: I forgot to include the Aftermath (Main Theme) song I had written and recorded for this project, so you can access it here

–J.

4 thoughts on “Aftermath: Remastered

  1. This is absolutely brilliant. It fills in such a beautiful and accurate picture of what the post TLOU story could look like. Thanks so much for the time and effort you put into this. I have just finished part 2 and plan on digging into part 3 soon. While I don’t know how it will end, I genuinely hope it doesn’t. Again, amazing work and thank you.

  2. I don’t know where to start…
    I started reading your story on Wednesday and couldn’t put down my Kindle and I read the three parts whenever I wasn’t working, eating or sleeping.
    I just finished it and I feel a hole in my heart. I lack words to say how much this story has moved me. My eyes are still red from all the crying. Chapter 15 until 20 were pretty hard to stand and completely unpredictable, sustaining an harrowing suspense.
    This is an amazing work, faithful to the atmosphere and environment of the game. I loved the development in Joel and Ellie’s relationship.
    I wish it wasn’t the end.
    Thanks again for all those great moments I had while reading. (I don’t blame you for the tears that have fallen on my cheeks)

  3. Hi there! Could you provide me with the links to download the EPUB again, please? The links in this post doesn’t seem to be working anymore.

    Thank you so much!

    1. Sorry I’ve taken so long to respond. I updated the links for the EPUBs of Part I and Part II, but I’m having some difficulties locating my Part III EPUB so I’ll need to dig around on some of my old hard drives and see if I can find it (for whatever reason I hadn’t backed it up to Drive.) If I find it, I’ll replace the link and comment to let you know!

Leave a comment