a milestone; a forthcoming journey

After what feels like an eternity, I finally lurched past the 80,000 word mark on WLAD.  I don’t feel like rereading my previous posts to figure out how long the last xx,xxx words took, but I’m sure it’s longer than it should have taken.  So it’s a milestone, yes, but I have a hard time celebrating it.  It’s been a long, hard road.

I mentioned in my previous post that I was thinking about taking a trip to Savannah.  After that post, I did indeed start looking into it, and eventually decided to book my flight and my lodging.  It’s officially happening.  A week from tomorrow I’ll be taking off for five days in Savannah, GA.  The main object of the trip is to get away from everyday life for awhile, to spend some time in a city that’s featured prominently in my novel, and to write.  I’m hoping to spend the lion’s share of each day writing, preferably outside at a park bench or outdoor cafe.  I’m looking forward to experiencing a new city, eating a lot of good southern comfort food, and soaking up the old antebellum atmosphere.  This is my first solo vacation.  I’m very excited.

I’m also a bit apprehensive about it.  I want to get a lot of writing done down there, but my momentum as of late has been worse than a snail’s pace.  In preparation, I’ve been attempting to outline the rest of what has to be written.  I know, I know, I’m sure you’re like ‘you haven’t outlined the story yet?!?’  And, well, no.  I haven’t.  I’ve always written without a formal outline.  Sure, one’s always existed in my head, and clearly that has its limitations (as I’ve been learning of late) but on previous writing projects, the lack of an outline hasn’t hindered my progress or writing quality.  It would appear I’ve found the limitations of living that reckless writing lifestyle, so i’m trying to rectify that situation and give myself a clear path forward so that once I get down to Savannah I can hit the ground running.  Here’s hoping.

But yes, I’m apprehensive, yet excited and hopeful.  I’m planning on it being a great trip.  This week I’m going to come up with a more formal itinerary as far as places to visit.  I’d like to stop in at a few different coffee places, bars, restaurants, etc. so I’m going to get those lined up before I get down there.  Should be a good time!

I’m thinking I might journal my days down there on here.  I guess we’ll see.  Keep your eyes open for it!

–J.

One thought on “a milestone; a forthcoming journey

Leave a comment